Simplefit.org • View topic - Hi!! Newbie here - with very little upper body strength

Hi!! Newbie here - with very little upper body strength

body weight exercise community

Moderator: cheapo

Hi!! Newbie here - with very little upper body strength

Postby arqrla » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:00 pm

Hi everybody!!

I found simplefit through cheapo's post in Mark Sisson's page. I'm really trying to switch my fitness routine from my chronic cardio ways, and this option sounds fantastic :mrgreen: . However... the pull ups are an issue for me. I'm not able to do any of the alternative exercises... I almost broke a table trying to do inverted rows :cry:

Are there any other options for me to do? Shall I just do push-ups and squats? Thanks in advance for your help, and I look forward to getting started
arqrla

Re: Hi!! Newbie here - with very little upper body strength

Postby arqrla » Sat Jul 24, 2010 4:33 pm

I guess I should go and look for support somewhere else
arqrla

Postby smooth » Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:44 pm

When you say that pull-ups are an issue for you...do you mean you can't do them at all? Or don't have access to a pull-up bar?

You have consulted this, right? http://www.simplefit.org/pullup.html You've tried the non-body row substitutions?

Welcome by the way!
smooth

Postby cheapo » Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:23 am

Inverted rows under a table sounds like no fun at all.

Body rows can be about as easy as you want them to be.
If you have a pull-up bar, consider getting suspending some rings, pommels, or other grip from the bar for use with the rows. To make inverted rows easier, keep yourself more upright.

Do something like this:

instead of this:

As you get stronger, you can work your way into the more horizontal rowing position.

And like smooth said: Welcome!
cheapo

Postby scumdogg » Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:50 pm