• View topic - Hello everybody - some newbie questions

Hello everybody - some newbie questions

body weight exercise community

Moderator: cheapo

Hello everybody - some newbie questions

Postby SB87 » Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:21 pm

Hello everybody,

I am a german man of 24 years (so sorry, if my english is sometimes a bit unclear or wrong :wink:), who just stumbled over this page. I have to say great page/forum, great motivation, great workout programm :D So, I am not a completely newbie in the sports. I enjoy all kinds of sports, such as cycling, running, BWE stuff (pullups, squats, pushups, burpees ...), swimming, DVR etc. etc. But now I decided to give SF a real try, because of it's radical simplicity. Anyway, some newbie questions remain and it would be great, if you could help me on them:

I understood, that you should decrease your level, if the whole workout (days 1,2 or 3) takes more than 30 minutes. I also understood, that you should increase your level, when you can do day 3 in under 5 minutes. No offense intended, but that seems like impossible to me, especially on the elite levels.

What about variations ? There are so many variations for the three core exercises. Think just of:

- Prison Squats, Hindu Squats, ...
- Standard Mililtary Pushups, Atlas Pushups, Hindu Pushups ...
- Wide Grip Pullups, Towel Pullups, Overhand/Underhand etc.

Is it ok, to vary the exercises from time to time to hit the muscles from multiple angels ? How should one incorporate the variation in the programm ? I have to say, that I'll most likely do the pushups on some bars or Atlas-Style; I feel they are better for my shoulders/posture that way (I have a slight rounded back).