• View topic - looking for advices

looking for advices

body weight Fitness Goals

Moderator: cheapo

looking for advices

Postby Altair » Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:15 am

Hi everybody!
here is my problem, I do 15 reps push up for the first set then I can do barrely 12 reps for the second set and 0 chin up/pull up (total beginner). anyone can give me advice or a weekly program to help me reach my goal to do pull ups. (I can't do the Lvl1 workout :s )

In 20 January, I subscribed to a gym and i'm working out 3 times a week for 1h30min for each session. I don't know how many time it will take to me to do 1 pull up.

I am 180cm/83,5Kg.

PS: sorry for my english I'm not a native speaker

Salim from Algeria.

Re: looking for advices

Postby BigJilm » Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:37 am

Im the same as you... just started (failed) level 1 today.

Do "negatives" for the pull ups. That is either jump up to the bar or use a chair to get up. Then, allow yourself to slowly drop, keeping as much weight as possible in your arms/shoulders.

For push ups do what you can, then drop your knees and do knelling push ups.

Keep at this until you increase your reps of the correct (full) technique.

Postby Admin » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:05 am

you can also change the angle of your push ups, its not cheating it will actually get you to standard workouts faster
Site Admin

Postby sean_x » Mon May 13, 2013 4:45 am

Hi Salim,
How are you getting on with your chinn-ups?

If you're still struggling and trying to gain strength, then I'd suggest taking things a lot easier, workout only twice a week and don't spend more than 45 mins in the gym. 1.5 hours is fine if you are trying to burn calories, but it will tire you too much to build strength quickly. Don’t worry too much about managing a full weight chinn-up for a few months, you’ll get there over time.