Just Starting

Forums Fitness training Just Starting

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    RMiranda
    Participant

I only recently came across the Crossfit community the other day. From what I’ve read on the web and assorted forums. This may be just what I’m looking for. I happened across this site while researching beginners stuff. I am a 31y/o Firefighter who is about 60lbs over weight. I’ve started to feel unhealthy and sluggish and feel like getting into a workout “groove” is just what the doctor ordered.

What I’m most concerned about is that some of the WOD just seem too challenging. I came upon your How To Get Started page and think that maybe the way for me to go. I have some questions though..

1) Prior to starting the workout listed, is there any warm up?

2) From what I see there are no “cardio” exercises listed. Do I do these on my own? what should i do?

3) How long should I try this before attempting the WOD?

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if these seem like noobish questions but I’m alittle overwhelmed with all of this info, though really excited to try it.

imported_Admin
    Participant

Hi and welcome!

1) it is always a good idea to warm up, go through the exercises specified in the wod at a very slow gentle pace thinking about proper form as a way of warming up slowly building the pace till you feel you are warm.

2) After you develop enough strength these workouts will have you breathing very hard, but strength before strength endurance.

3) whenever you feel comfortable start integrating the crossfit wod till you are able to fully transition.

I hope this helps!

RMiranda
    Participant